Police Pension Board


The 2nd Tuesday of January, April, July, and October at 8:30 am.


NameTerm Expires 
Chief Alex Chavira April 30, 2025
Maggie EllmakerMay 12, 2024 
Colin ReynoldsApril 30, 2024
Kip AitkenJune 30, 2025
Ron PothoffMay 12, 2024


The Police Pension Board is composed of five members, each serving a two-year term.  This Board meets on the 2nd Tuesday of January, April, July, and October at 9:15 am.
 The Board of Trustees of the Sterling Police Pension Fund is charged with controlling the fund, managing the assets of the fund, subpoenaing witnesses, enforcing contributions, hearing and determining applications for benefits, making rules, paying expenses, investing funds, and keeping records. The Board has five members; two are appointed by the Mayor with approval of City Council, two are elected by the active members of the fund from those active members and one is elected from and by the retired members of the fund. The Board meets at least quarterly to make investment decisions and authorize disability and retirement pensions in accordance with Illinois law.